The State of Georgia looks at DUIs in two ways: they look at how many DUIs one may have in his or her lifetime, and they look back ten (10) years, in order to determine the appropriate penalty ranges.
Driving Under the Influence is a misdemeanor in the State of Georgia (unless it is your fourth or subsequent offense within 10 years), which means that it is punishable by up to twelve (12) months imprisonment and up to $1000 fine. There are also additional conditions that may be imposed, and license implications for any conviction.
If you are 21 or over and convicted of DUI in Georgia, for your first offense in 10 years, you will be placed on 12 months probation and required to pay a fine between the amounts of $300 and $1000 (and court costs, which could be 15-25% more), as well as complete at least 20 hours of Community Service (if your BAC was less than 0.08%) and at least 40 hours of Community Service in all other scenarios.
Additionally, you will be required to participate in a DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program, and depending on the county or municpality of conviction, you may be asked to participate in additional programs such as a Mothers Against Drunk Driving Impact Panel.
State law mandates that your sentence includes between 10 days and 12 months of imprisonment as well, with a minimum of 24 hours to be served.
You also face up to one (1) year of driver’s license suspension, but in many situations, there are limited permits available for driving to and from work and school and the potential for early reinstatement of your license upon completion of certain conditions. You need professional legal advice from an experienced Canton DUI attorney. Contact us today for your free consultation.