If you are under 21 years old and charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Georgia, because of Georgia’s “Zero Tolerance” laws, you face a different level of penalty than drivers 21 and over.
While most of the conditions imposed on drivers convicted of DUI in Georgia are the same, there are stricter consequences on the driving privileges of those under 21, and (as discussed here) the levels of blood alcohol concentration required to prove DUI for drivers under age 21 is much lower than that for drivers 21 and over.
For instance, if you are convicted of Driving Under the Influence and under 21 years old, your driver’s license will be suspended for at least six (6) months (if any trace of alcohol is found in your system), and for one (1) year if your BAC (discussed more thoroughly here) is 0.08 grams or more.
It is imperative, then, that you know your rights when driving in Georgia, and if you are pulled over, so that you can also know the potential consequences of your decisions. Georgia is very strict on drivers under age 21 charged with driving under the influence, and it is in your best interest to speak to an experienced Canton DUI attorney immediately about how best to fight your case. Give us a call today for your free consultation.